Skip to content

Unemployed?

November 21, 2009

Found out from my principal yesterday that she would like to expand my job to a full-time position next year.  She would like me to stay, but I don’t want to work full-time, so that means I will probably be moving on.  Mostly, I feel relieved.  I love teaching, but I can feel the possibilities opening up in front of me.  To have time, again, for writing and yoga and cooking.  To have more time with my son as he goes through high school — I cannot believe my little guy will only be living at home for four more years!  To be able to indulge the pull of my heart for travel.

Ah.  I feel like I’ll be able to breathe fully again.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2009 11:12 am

    I’m puzzled, because it seemed like you were so happy teaching! Anyway, if it means more time for your blog fans, then I’m happy.

    • gumbomum permalink*
      November 21, 2009 3:01 pm

      I am happy teaching, but I wouldn’t be happy teaching full-time. After some soul-searching I decided that I can’t see myself doing this job long-term, or at any other school, so I’ll only keep doing it as long as this particular arrangement works out.

  2. lilalia permalink
    November 21, 2009 11:33 am

    I also come to the end of my work contract at the end of this year. Being much older than you, the idea of being unemployed and seeking meaningful employment at my age, makes me nervous. Yet, part of me, like you, is looking forward to a short reprieve to wind down and to just enjoy (hopefully) a blissfully simple life for a while. If you are feeling relief, than it means you are ready for a change.

    • gumbomum permalink*
      November 21, 2009 3:03 pm

      I am lucky in that I have the financial flexibility that I don’t have to keep working. That really changes everything. I think you’re right — that feeling of relief is an important signal.

Leave a Reply

