Skip to content

NaBloPoMo Day 8: Weekend Update

November 8, 2009

I know I said that I’d write about the meltdown I had yesterday, but now I’m not sure I really want to!  Yesterday I woke up just feeling completely overwhelmed and found myself in tears over the laundry, work, the house, the state of the educational system, just everything.  Add to that the fact that yesterday would have been my dad’s 63rd birthday and it all added up to a weepy Gumbomum.  Señor Gumbo very sweetly calmed me down and we ended up going out for a nice dinner together, followed by watching “Gran Torino,” which is an amazing movie — hard to watch at times, but well-written & brilliantly acted.

Then I got p*ssed off when I learned that the health care vote went through with major anti-abortion concessions.  WTF, Pelosi?  And WTF, Obama?  I am hugely angry and disappointed that they would let this happen.  News flash, Democrats:  You are the MAJORITY PARTY.  Start acting like it and stop capitulating to right-wing interests!!!  Grrr.  Gumbomum angry!!!  Time to write another check to Planned Parenthood.

Spent today catching up on house stuff, helping GumboBoy with a very frustrating homework assignment, laundry, and playing with Jing, Screencast, and Pixorial.  GumboBoy is going to be making an interactive model (whatever that means) of the ancient Mongolian city of Karakorum, which sounds like a fun assignment but in reality will probably involve mishaps with a hot glue gun and Model Magic.  Maybe I’ll post photos.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. lilalia permalink
    November 8, 2009 11:32 pm

    Don’t get too upset about the anti-abortion concession, that will change with time. The main thing is for your country to get universal medicine. All countries that have social medicine have been able to change things according to cost and demand. Sometimes those changes have been detrimental, other times very good. It will be good to be able to debate changes in your medical plans; gets your blood flowing!

    Still, please do send the check to Planned Parenthood, they do such good and needed work.

  2. November 9, 2009 5:06 am

    Isn’t it irritating that abortion has been politicized like that? As Lilalia says, the concession will get reversed eventually — but still, it’s annoying. The right plays gay marriage and abortion as political pawns, all the while calling them moral issues. I call BS!

  3. gumbomum permalink*
    November 9, 2009 6:29 pm

    You guys are probably right. It just ticks me off that we can’t get beyond the ridiculousness.

Leave a Reply

