Skip to content

NaBloPoMo Day Two: In Which Gumbomum Whines About her Nose

November 2, 2009

So I had the swine flu, probably, about 2.5 weeks ago and have been feeling crappy ever since.  This week, the overall malaise morphed into a complete inability to breathe through my nose, resulting in a sore throat from sleeping with my mouth open.  To add to the indignity, I apparently have begun snoring loudly enough to keep Señor Gumbo awake at night (please note that S.G. has been snoring for years and keeping ME awake, but I digress).  Finally today I made a trip to the local Doc-in-a-Box who diagnosed a sinus infection, and also expressed alarm at my blood pressure, refusing to accept my explanation that my pressure is ALWAYS high when I’m at the doctor’s office, but normal when I take it at home.  Anyhow, she said that 90% of sinus infections are viral, that antibiotics probably wouldn’t help, that I should use saline spray (which I have been doing), etc. etc.  I said, okay, but it’s really frustrating when even the roots of your TEETH hurt from the pressure.  At which point she completely changed her course — “If the roots of your teeth hurt, you definitely need antibiotics!”  Apparently, that is the magic phrase you need to say to get antibiotics for a sinus infection (just like “chest pain” gets immediate service in the ER).  Just thought I would pass that information along…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. sunnysara permalink
    November 2, 2009 2:47 pm

    Wouldn’t you have preferred two weeks of bed rest and exemption from all household duties, instead of the antibiotics? I know I would. Still, take the pills and hopefully all will be better soon.

  2. sunnysara permalink
    November 2, 2009 2:47 pm

    Sorry, sunnysara is my daughter’s signature, I’m lia…

    • gumbomum permalink*
      November 2, 2009 5:51 pm

      Hi Lia — yes, that would have been nice… but I have classes to teach 🙂

  3. November 2, 2009 3:07 pm

    When I was in university, I felt like I had a fish bone caught in my throat. It was sore and annoying and the health centre was closed so I went to the ER, expecting a long, long wait. But they whisked me right through and said, “How much trouble breathing are you having??!” I said, “None. It just hurts.” Anyway, it was a scratch, bone long gone, but I guess the words, “Caught in my throat” causes similar panic. Another useful piece of advice.

    Hope your sinuses feel better soon.

    • gumbomum permalink*
      November 2, 2009 11:47 pm

      Awesome, now I know another code phrase. Another good one (esp. for men) is “chest pain, ” but while that gets fast service in the ER, it can also lead to lots of tests…

  4. November 2, 2009 7:29 pm

    If you’re not adverse to the neti pot, you may want to try it. I’m a long-time veteran of endless, seemingly uncurable sinus infections but the neti pot changed everything.

    When my sinuses get oogy, I now use a wash that includes sea salt, baking soda, raw apple cider vinegar and GSE (grapefruit seed extract). The last time I had an infection, this cleared it up where antibiotics failed.

    Let me know if you’d like the exact ‘recipe’ and I’ll send it along. Nasty stuff, but boy does it work!!

    • gumbomum permalink*
      November 2, 2009 11:46 pm

      I am sort of afraid of the neti pot, but sure, send me the recipe. Might as well have it handy just in case.

  5. November 3, 2009 10:51 am

    I have to raise my voice here AGAINST the neti pot – every time I’ve used it I’ve ended up more sick than when I started. My personal opinion is it spreads the germs around more and is really only effective if used before you are sick.

    It’s hard for antiobiotics to reach the sinuses, as well, which is another reason docs are trending away from prescribing them, but I am glad you got some if you are in that much pain! Sam had a sinus infection similar to yours a couple of weeks ago and he could barely lift his head.

    And I get white coat syndrome re: my blood pressure, too, no matter how much deep breathing I do.

    And that’s all I know…

  6. November 3, 2009 2:47 pm

    Urgh! Though I do quite like neti pots, if you keep them clean and don’t share them. I needed anitbiotics to shift my last sinus infection though – horrible – I do sympathise…

    I had white coat syndrome for years. Then they slapped a round-the-clock monitor on me and discovered that I had quite genuine high blood pressure to – so don’t discount it!

Leave a Reply

