Skip to content

NaBloPoMo Day One: Blog Identity Crisis?

November 1, 2009

In my previous blog incarnations, I had a theme or focus.  For my first blog on Salon, what seems like decades ago but was really only about 2003, I wrote about parenting, cooking, and the political implications of our daily choices.  On my second blog (to which I’m not linking because I started this one so I could be anonymous, and linking back there would be defeating the purpose) I wrote about my yoga practice, as well as parenting, cooking, and eventually my dad’s illness and death.  Here, as Gumbomum, I haven’t quite found my blog identity.  I’m a lot more random and unfocused, probably because I now have an actual job (gasp!) and don’t have the time to devote to crafting thoughtful blog posts.

So don’t expect deep insight or beautiful prose!  I’m going to take a “here is what’s on my mind today” approach.  For today, what’s on my mind is: finding a high school for GumboBoy to attend next year.  GumboBoy has been in a small (130 kids total) preK through 8th grade private International Baccalaureate school since he was 8.  I am understandably nervous about throwing him into the big pond next year.  It’s like the first day of kindergarten all over again.  GumboBoy is truly a unique kid — sweet, sensitive, extremely bright, independent-minded.  He also has ADHD and the worst handwriting you’ve ever seen.  I worry that his teachers and peers won’t “get” him.  I worry about him flying below the radar, with his gifts going unobserved.  I want him to find an environment where he’ll feel comfortable and thrive.  I hope it’s out there.

This morning we’re off to an open house at a private Jesuit school — which means I should be getting dressed right now!

More tomorrow!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2009 5:00 pm

    You are so lucky to have an IB school in your area. I’m sure your son will do just fine!

    Do tell us about your search for a new school.

  2. November 1, 2009 6:08 pm

    I’m dreading that choice! Am hoping to get us out of London and parley more possibilities as a consequence.

  3. sunnysara permalink
    November 1, 2009 7:30 pm

    Looking forward to hearing what your impressions were. It is not so easy choosing a new school for your child.

    Looking forward to hearing the ramblings this month.

Leave a Reply

