Skip to content

Is Blogging Dead or Is It Just Me?

October 3, 2009

For whatever reason, I haven’t felt much like blogging lately.  First — no time to write something coherent.  Second — no time to read *with close attention* and comment on other’s blogs.  Blogging was always about the dialogue for me, but now that I can’t participate in the larger conversation with any care and consistency, I’m less inspired to write.  It’s a vicious circle.

And then I look at my Facebook friends and all of the bloggers on there who have enriched my life and expanded my horizons in so many ways, and I think it IS worth it to keep blogging.

Any thoughts?  Anyone else feeling “out of the loop” these days? Have Twitter and Facebook contributed to this?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Kai permalink
    October 3, 2009 7:57 pm

    Hm, I don’t think it’s dead, but there’s definitely been a ‘turnover’ in bloggers over the past year, with some people dropping off and new ones popping up.

    I’m on Twitter and was seriously addicted over the summer, but now I hardly ever look at it anymore. Ditto for Facebook.

    If anything, I’m spending less time online these days and only logging on to update my own blog (which I do faithfully right now, since my practice is daily).

  2. October 4, 2009 1:31 am

    Anymore, I’ve been a bad blogger. Only blogging my Thursday 13. 😦 I need to get back in the habit of more daily blogging. Although we are just a month away from NaBloPoMo….

  3. Nairam permalink
    October 4, 2009 4:35 am

    I wonder if blogging is slowly being replaced by the faster/easier Facebook/Tweeter updates???

    My yoga blog helps me keep my practice going (it’s a reflection of my thoughts, but also a log of my progress… so that forces me to post relatively frequently. With this said, I find myself more press for time with work and all the other things that are going on… and unable to follow my favorite blogs as much as before–and to comment. And yes, I have also noticed that, when I do visit, sometimes people are not writing… I assume like, with everything in life, people go through cycles and sometimes it’s hard to keep so many balls in the air. Sometimes, the inspiration goes away. Not sure.

    I still believe blogging has put me in touch with some absolutely wonderful people… both close and far away. Just as an example, there are at least 5 wonderful people in my shala who are also bloggers, and who I got to meet personally by chance, because I started blogging. If I had not blogged, and bumped into them in cyberspace first, I would have never found that they were also in DC and practicing in the mat next to mine!! I wonder how long it would have taken me to meet them/get to know them a little better otherwise (apart from a few and quick shy Hi’s in the morning!). So there. It’s totally worth it 🙂

  4. Nairam permalink
    October 4, 2009 4:38 am

    PS I just read my post. Of course it was:

    “pressed for time”

    “I assume that, like with everything”

    “and whom I got to meet”

    Sorry for being so… whatever… about this 🙂

  5. October 4, 2009 7:15 am

    I’ve noticed a bit of a turnover as well. I’ve also been twittering a lot too but I suspect we’ve both been in a space this year where there are demands on our time that just weren’t there last year. Having said that, changing blogger ID has helped me a lot and twittering has put me more in touch with bloggers who are awake at the same time as me. More people seem to be blogging with the idea that they can make a livng out of it, though which is becoming a bit of a drag. But that’s another story. Having an iPhone has definitely upped the ammount of casual Reading and commenting I do. Laid waste to my spelling, mind

  6. October 4, 2009 9:37 am

    I still love blogging but am lazier about it: lazier about finding new blogs, lazier about commenting. Facebook is such instant gratification – and I imagine Twitter is too – that I am finding I need to “work” on blogging more. It doesn’t flow quite as freely as it used to.

  7. October 4, 2009 1:57 pm

    Facebook and Twitter still have yet to yield one of those ahh experience that make it suddenly apparent why this is really great and not topic-related networks (e.g. Ning), or blogs, or emails, or face-to-face meetings. I still, reluctantly, carry a suspicion that it is more hype and speed and superficiality than it is context, content, and meaningful exchange. I want to be convinced, but even though I do follow and am followed on Twitter, it doesn’t hold any importance to my life. Yesterday, I deleted my Facebook account because it struck me all as “white noise”. I’d hate to get bogged down only in blogging, but I do like the meat of blogging rather than the foam of Facebook.

  8. Anne permalink
    October 6, 2009 2:48 am

    I stopped having as much time to blog when I changed jobs, and as I’ve become more disillusioned with the “traditional” ashtanga system, I find myself not checking into ashtangi.net, etc. But sometimes I miss writing…

  9. gumbomum permalink*
    October 6, 2009 2:58 am

    Facebook seems to serve some of the “social” needs that blogging filled for me — I can get that instant feedback, share recipes & articles, etc.

    I’m finding Twitter is most useful professionally. I started following a lot of teachers and educational technology folks and am getting lots of ideas and links in that realm.

    As my ashtanga practice dropped off, I stopped wanting to write about yoga. I still read blogs, but don’t have much to say. Can’t be bothered to work up an opinion on any ashtanga “controversies.” Haven’t been on ashtanga.net in ages.

    I am glad people are still reading here, even if I haven’t quite found my new voice or focus yet!

  10. October 7, 2009 10:36 pm

    I’m getting fewer comments on my blog these days, and although I’m still reading blogs, I’m commenting less. It’s not Facebook that’s doing it to me, though. I rarely pay much attention to it anymore, unless someone new asks to be my friend (or, I’m playing Scramble).

  11. October 8, 2009 7:17 pm

    I’ve definitely noticed this, but for me blogging is definitely still very much alive. I make a concerted effort to find new blogs, though, and am rather ruthless about deleting inactive ones. I honestly can’t imagine NOT blogging, but I also don’t put a ton of pressure on myself to do it every day, or every other day. I guess it depends what kind of role blogging filled for you. In a way I am lucky because I have to use facebook and twitter for work and so those feel very much like “work” to me while blogging still feels like a luxury…

Leave a Reply

