Skip to content

The Introvert’s Lament

August 1, 2009

The trouble with traveling with your family is that you have to BE with your family the whole time.

Not that my family isn’t absolutely fabulous, of course.  I just get drained from being with PEOPLE.

I’m just saying.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2009 7:43 pm

    Oh God, how I hear you!

  2. August 1, 2009 9:12 pm

    I’ll third the sentiment.

    Favourite family vacation ever involved large amounts of time when everyone else was out of our rented house and I cozied up in a big chair and just read for hours.

  3. August 2, 2009 2:31 am

    My fantasy holiday is being alone. I don’t have to go anywhere, staying home would be fine.

    • August 2, 2009 10:37 am

      Especially since your husband isn’t with you this trip! It sounds like you will need a weekend off on your own somewhere when you return – or perhaps before? Can you beg off for a even a day without the family?

  4. lilalia permalink
    August 2, 2009 3:51 pm

    Wait another year or two and then you will BE with your family on vacation, but they will also do all of their own packing, help you with the laundry during the trip, go off on their own adventures that they will expound upon with much wit in the evenings, help to damper the strains of family gatherings… honestly, it gets so much fun, and then suddenly, shockingly, they leave home forever! (waaahhh!)

    • gumbomum permalink*
      August 2, 2009 8:06 pm

      That sounds great… and then again, the leaving part, not so great…

  5. tracy permalink
    August 2, 2009 4:36 pm

    i thought I was the only one who felt that way!!!

  6. August 2, 2009 7:58 pm

    I feel the same way too!

    • gumbomum permalink*
      August 2, 2009 8:06 pm

      So it seems I am far from alone in this! I hid in my room for an hour or so today, and did manage a solo walk on the beach as well. I don’t think it helps that the other three adults here (my mom and my mother and father-in-law) are all extroverts who don’t need that “quiet time.” Plus I have to translate for everyone! But I feel a little more sane today…

  7. Kai permalink
    August 2, 2009 9:26 pm

    Yeah, I’m an introvert too. Makes it tough to be in group situations. Given sufficient alone time, I can usually keep my sanity, but it’s challenging. The ability to wake very early can be a boon, since it offers an hour or two of ‘quiet time’ but I know that’s not always possible.

    Sometimes, ‘vacations’ require a vacation for recovery! 😉

Leave a Reply

