Skip to content

An Award! And Other Stuff!

June 17, 2009

The always-lovely Kiki over at The Prosecco Life gave me the Lovely Blog award, which is so very sweet of her.

lovely_blog_award

I feel so very flattered, and unworthy!  I haven’t had the time or brain power to write much lately but I do try to make sure that what I do write is genuine.  I look back at my old posts on my “other” blog and wonder how I managed to string together those well-crafted, coherent posts.  Clearly I must have killed some brain cells over the past couple of years.  It would be nice to have them back!

The kids and I are spending the summer just being lazy, so far.  Today we thought about going to Wyoming for lunch.  I mean, it’s only 2 hours, they’ve never been to Wyoming, and how cool would it be just to go to Wyoming for lunch, and come back. When they figured out that it meant four hours in the car, though, they decided they’d rather go to Boulder.  That’s only 45 minutes away.  We had Thai food, wandered the Pearl Street Mall, listened to the street musicians and came home.  Totally pointless outing, just the way I like it!

They also offered to cook my dinner tonight.  Okay, I ordered them to plan and cook dinner. They decided on kebabs.  Miraculously, my temperamental WeberQ grill decided to light, and it stopped raining, so they got to grill the kebabs.  GumboGirl made garlic bread, too, while GumboBoy grilled (boys and fire!  great combination!).  We had a lovely dinner on the deck, marred only by the fact that Mr. Gumbo is in California and couldn’t enjoy the feast with us.

I am feeling nostalgic for my kids these days.  Yeah, they’re right here, but they are growing up SO fast.  They are 13 and 10 — we don’t have that many years left with them at home!  I remember when I was slogging through the infant and toddler days, and people would tell me, “Enjoy them, they grow up too fast” and I’d want to give those people a slap on the head because the days were just endless and exhausting!  But… it’s true. They DO grow up too fast.  Of course I think my kids are growing up to be pretty amazing people, whom I will enjoy hanging around with, but it’s still pretty mind-boggling how fast they grow and change… sigh…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 7:24 pm

    I’m right there with you…

  2. June 18, 2009 7:08 pm

    OK – I’ll try not to want to give you a slap on the head! But even at 5 and 1.5, I see what you mean. I can’t trust dudelet with a barbecue yet (though supermum might – she lets him run around with the most hair-raising of gardening implements) but he does pour a mean bowl of cereal.

    • June 20, 2009 5:19 am

      Quality over quantity, that’s what I say. And your blog has long been one of my favorites!

  3. Moonmaid permalink
    June 26, 2009 11:01 am

    Awww… I LOVE the infant and soon-to-be toddler days.
    It really, really goes so fast my heart skips a beat just thinking about it.

    For the first 40 days of her life, LL slept on my chest and then one night, boom! she wouldn’t. And now she’s all smiling smiles and blowing kisses and gosh, when did she grow out of her babyness?

    I know, totally unrelated comment, but it’s been on my mind lately… (I just read through all your posts and comments on the new blog, yay!)

Leave a Reply

