Skip to content

Connecting

June 12, 2009

You know, I really have to stop judging people before I get to know them.  I just had a lovely heart-to-heart chat with a neighbor and found that we struggle with many of the same issues, especially when it comes to parenting and spirituality.  I’m ashamed to say that even though we’ve been neighbors for four years and our kids are good friends, I really had no clue what she *thinks* about or who she really is.  I had sort of assumed, for various reasons, that she was more conservative, and that I wouldn’t connect with her.  Come to find out she’s been going through this big spiritual struggle and we actually do connect.  I love it when I’m able to relate to someone with an open heart and see more than I thought was there.  And I really have to stop living in my own little bubble and be more open to these kinds of interactions.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2009 8:16 am

    I don’t think judging is a problem, actually – it’s more not being able to change your judgements when new evidence comes along. Self-evidently not an issue for you 🙂

  2. tracy permalink
    June 13, 2009 4:36 pm

    good lesson for us ALL! xo

  3. June 14, 2009 1:01 pm

    If I don’t particularly take to someone the first time I meet them, it’s generally a sure sign they are supposed to be my friend. Seriously, my initial gut instinct on people is almost always wrong!

  4. June 16, 2009 7:06 pm

    Wonderful post as always, GumboMum!

    I just wanted to let you know that I listed you as one the bloggers I’ve chosen to receive the ‘One Lovely Blog’ award! Your blog brings me an incredible amount of inspiration, and it’s always one that I place a priority on reading.

    You can check out my post here: http://theproseccolife.blogspot.com/2009/06/awards-everywhere.html

    Thanks for all the wonderful writing!

  5. June 17, 2009 10:08 pm

    Nice post and blog, keep it up.

  6. December 17, 2009 9:29 pm

    в конце концов: бесподобно!

Leave a Reply

