Skip to content

Get Real.

June 5, 2009

Nothing like being away from home and your normal routines to force you to take a clear look at your life.  This week I’m at my mom’s helping her pack for her move (to a house five minutes from mine!  Yay!  And OMG!).  Having some space and clarity has made me realize a few things:

1. My kids need a serious technology detox, and so do I.  Mr. Gumbo and I talked about this a couple of weeks ago.  I seriously want to disconnect the TV, hide the Nintendo DS’s, ban the iPods, and limit the computer time.  We need to spend more time shooting hoops, being outside, swimming, biking, playing board games, making stuff.  Who wants to look back on a childhood with their face stuck in front of a screen?

2. I have to be honest, my diet has not been great over the past year.  I still think it’s healthier than 90% of Americans, but that’s not a very high standard.  I eat way too much sugar.  My kids eat too much white stuff and not enough fruits and vegetables  Get real — eating this way will kill us, eventually.  I spontaneously gave up coffee, sugar, wheat, dairy, alcohol and meat three days ago.  The first couple of days were fine but suddenly today I want to eat a box of cookies.  But I won’t.  I had two plums instead.

3.  I haven’t been reading enough!  Time seemed to get away from me this year — it was my first year since the kids were born that I worked outside the home.  I still haven’t figured out to balance everything.  But reading is something that I love, and that relaxes me, and I need to make the time.  Ditto for writing.

4. After the triathlon is over, I need to GET REAL about an exercise plan that works for me.  I’ve not been able to train as much as I wanted for the tri, and my basic goal right now is just to finish and not die.  I think I’ll stick with the running, as I don’t hate it like I thought I would, and get back to yoga a couple times a week at least.  Because I have to be real — as much as I love ashtanga and all it does for me, my cardio is SO nowhere near where it should be and running seems to be good for that.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2009 12:18 pm

    Wow, you gave up a lot of food all at once…I am trying to eat minimal wheat and dairy because it makes me feel good but I must admit I still eat some sugar and I still drink alcohol…and um, coffee? Wow. You are my hero!!

  2. lilalia permalink
    June 6, 2009 1:03 pm

    Glad to hear you had some time away. Glad to hear your mom is moving to your neck of the woods. My mother-in-law moved in to a small apartment across the hall from our apartment. Knock on wood, the arrangement is “just right”.

    My dad always told me life isn’t about taking things away but adding thing on to make the right balance. Adding more fruit and vegetables to our diet can sometimes be better than taking away coffee and a nice glass of wine. (Though you can throw out the sugar stuff in my books, smile.)

    • gumbomum permalink*
      June 6, 2009 3:28 pm

      It’s not about just giving things up — I’m eating a HUGE amount of vegetables and fruit. It’s more about getting the right nutrition from healthy foods. And that’s what’s left when you give the other stuff up… I’m in this space of “white food kills! meat kills! dairy kills!” LOL. We’ll see how it goes…

  3. June 7, 2009 9:07 am

    Once the smoke clears, we need to do something similar. Am interested to hear about the idea of ashtanga not being enough cardio – I find I finish a session with my heart up and running with sweat. Though maybe I should reconsider that? Even a couple of short runs a week would probably be a useful adendum – if I could only fit them in. We do need to find a way to reduce the amount of tv time for our two, though (mind you, the TV’s paused and I can hear them rampaging around doing something creative whilst I sneak out to read a couple of posts – uh-oh, that was the fridge door…gotta run…)

  4. June 8, 2009 3:07 pm

    Ashtanga is think is not enough cardio, sadly. I think it may be enough at first… and then, as you get stronger, you need more. I hate to admit that… , as I think yoga should be all we need. But maybe, if we were working on a farm, and doing lots of physical activity, it would be. I’ve been doing 15 minutes of cardio each morning… it doesn’t take too much time, but I wonder if that too will soon not be enough?

  5. gumbomum permalink*
    June 8, 2009 5:52 pm

    I do think ashtanga *can* be enough but maybe not the way I do it. I’m still planning to wear my heart rate monitor during a practice to see what it says. All I know is that after years of doing yoga, I still wasn’t fit enough to jog for even five minutes — seems like that should be do-able if ashtanga is enough cardio? Or maybe I was just way out of shape despite the yoga…

  6. June 13, 2009 8:17 am

    Well, I’m seriously thinking about starting to jog part of the way to work – I’ll find out then if all this astanga has done anything (beyond clipping two to three inches off my waist size)

  7. June 18, 2009 8:56 pm

    I am looking for that exercise balance… just like too much computer time too much exercise time is not particularly good either. Thanks for stopping by my blog these days.

Leave a Reply

