Skip to content

Practice and All Is Coming

May 22, 2009

Anyone tuned into the yoga world this week will know that the title of this post is a quote from Sri K. Pattabhi Jois, aka Guruji to his students.  Guruji was on my mind as I ran this week, as I despaired at my slowness, my asthma, my inability to keep running for three miles straight.  As I plodded through the running trails, I thought, “What would Guruji say?” (I mean, other than “No running!  You do yoga!”)  And I thought how running is a practice like yoga, and how much I sucked at yoga when I first started, and how the important thing is just to keep going, keep practicing. So that helped.

I also thought of another Guruji quote: “Everywhere God seeing.”  As I thought of that, a kirtan song by Deva Premal came on the iPod and suddenly the meadowlark that warbled as I passed was God.  The blooming trees were God.  Even my own ragged breath was God.  As I arrived home, red-faced and panting, I was glad to know that you can do Yoga without doing yoga.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. tracy permalink
    May 22, 2009 4:41 pm

    what a beautiful post kristi..no truer words were spoken.

  2. May 22, 2009 7:56 pm

    “You can do yoga without doing yoga” – I’ve been reminding myself of that, in different terms, all week…I’ve just been trying to remind myself that it’s still yoga, even if it’s not on the mat. It’s been working somewhat but I like your revelation better!

  3. May 23, 2009 1:16 pm

    “I mean, other than ‘No running! You do yoga!’”

    Haha! I’m having my first cup of coffee. It’s delightful to start the day with a big laugh. Thanks for that! 🙂

  4. May 24, 2009 7:50 pm

    Running! I’d quite like to that again. Must add it to the list. Paying close attention to my inner voice – that’s got to move a little further up the list.

  5. May 29, 2009 1:09 am

    Wow… what a beautiful way to practice life.

    Yes… no running… you do yoga!

Leave a Reply

