Skip to content

I’m Off!

April 15, 2009

I’ve spent the morning packing and organizing for a trip to New York City for a conference.  The last professional conference I went to was the MLA in Toronto, years ago, and I spent the whole time freezing my butt off and wondering why in the world I wanted to be an English professor.  I remember sitting there thinking, “Wow, these people really like to hear the sound of their own voices.”  I gave a paper at that conference — it went over well and was eventually published, but I decided that there was no way I wanted to spend the rest of my life attending those conferences and hanging out with the academics. It was all very, very dysfunctional.

I am hoping this conference will be more enjoyable.  For one thing, my colleague and I have plans to attend a couple of shows!  And I am actually excited about several of the sessions we’re attending, on foreign language teaching and learning disabilities.  I’m also excited for some of the techie presentations on  technology in the classroom.

I even packed my workout clothes.  I am making some progress on my training and I don’t want to lose ground!  I found out last week that my asthma may be worse than I thought, and my lung capacity is similar to that of a 75-year-old woman.  I may have to name my triathlon team “Team Wheezing Geezer.”

On a positive note, I found that ashtanga standing poses provide a great post-run stretch.

Okay, off to run a couple errands, to work and then to the airport!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2009 8:06 pm

    Enjoy your trip! And thanks for letting me know where you’re blogging now.

  2. April 16, 2009 5:15 am

    Be sure to have dinner at candle 79… I think you’ll love it. http://candle79.com/ or garlic chips, oysters and a martini at union square cafe. have fun!

  3. gumbomum permalink*
    April 19, 2009 7:41 pm

    Roshi — I would have loved to try that place but we barely made it out of the conference!! Next time!

Leave a Reply

