Skip to content

Confessions of a Lasped Yogini

March 24, 2009

Since it seems to be true confession time around here, I have something to confess:

I hardly ever practice yoga anymore.

I don’t know if I’m in yoga limbo, or if I’m just over it completely.  Hard to say.  First, my back injury really slowed down my practice.  Then, life just got too busy for me to make it to classes very often (the nearest ashtanga class is about a 30 minute drive for me).  And then, one of my favorite home practice partners moved away.

In some ways, not practicing yoga makes me feel worse — out of shape, lazy, cranky. But in some ways, I actually feel better; I actually have less back pain when I *don’t* practice, which definitely means something — probably that I’m doing something horribly wrong when I practice.  I also feel like cutting back on the yoga practice has made space for me to do other things, like start to train for the triathlon. And have a job 😉

I’d be curious to hear if any of you yogis or yoginis out there have ever taken an extended break from yoga, and if so, how long did it last? What brought you back to the practice — or did you go back?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. lilalia permalink
    March 24, 2009 7:02 am

    Count me in. Long list of reasons, which would interest no one. No feeling happy about this, but don’t see things changing quickly. Trying more to get out walking; on my own and with friends. Fresh air. Clear mind. Happy feet.

  2. March 24, 2009 12:35 pm

    I’ve come and gone over the five or six years I’ve been practicing and it’s always had to do with whether I was attending a regular(ish) class or not. Even when I have a class, its a lonely struggle to get through more than ten or twenty minutes, even two or three additional times a week. And when I don’t have a class, things slide very quickly. In all ways!

  3. March 24, 2009 2:16 pm

    I’m not sure if it really matters. Incorporating enhanced self-awareness into one’s lifestyle is certainly more meaningful than maintaining the physical practice. If you’ve learned from your yoga experiences and can apply those lessons to your life, then job well done.

    Plus, it’ll always be there to go back to…assuming your back is into it!

  4. March 24, 2009 4:23 pm

    I have been on a break from yoga for about 6 months now. Mainly it’s because I’m now stationed in Dubai, away from my yoga teachers, from my yoga buddy.

    Been trying to at least do meditation. Even that has been a struggle.

    I’m feeling the lack of practice. My temper has become shorter – though my knees are not aching like they used to after a string of intense power yoga classes. (Again, maybe it’s over-straining on my part) My focus though, is whacked.

    I find it hard to maintain a regular yoga practice in Dubai. The city is not big on yoga. And it’s so easy to get caught up in the consumerism of the city.

    When I was practicing yoga, my life was simple. The focus of my life was the practice and the people I love – then books and music.

    Now without my practice, I spend more money, I am less careful and easily flustered. The lack of practice always shows up in how I live my life.

    I have the option to extend my contract in Dubai for at least one more year. But the thought of having to go one more year without a regular yoga practice scares me. I am not sure if I can get back to practicing regularly away from my teachers and my support network at home.

    Sorry this isn’t a story about returning to yoga. Just that right now, I don’t know how to find my way back.

  5. March 25, 2009 11:19 pm

    I walked away from yoga probably six months ago and was on a long decline before that. Many reasons, none important. I tried it, did it for years, took a lot from it, and then just discovered it lacked meaning for me. Life cycles. Some are long, some are short. Nothing to feel bad about in my book. Namaste!

  6. tracy permalink
    March 26, 2009 6:42 pm

    well, since i am training for my 3rd marathon…and moving SOON, i do practice Yin Yoga on a regular basis to balance out my running schedule..and meditation is a regular practice for me. It keeps me sane and grounded…as for ashtanga, i can’t possibly while i am running the amount of miles i run.
    it’s ALL good ;0) xo

  7. March 27, 2009 8:38 am

    I have been practicing Yoga since 1993, and I’ve definitely been through more and less intense times of practice. When I was practicing vinyasa Yoga, I injured myself and that led to a long period without practice, until I gave up the idea that Yoga was going to be primarily a physical practice. Now, the practice I do on the mat is much gentler than it was – and I incorporate more meditation.

    It IS a sign that your back feels better – maybe you could try a different style of Yoga that isn’t so physically demanding?

  8. March 30, 2009 5:13 pm

    Training for a triathlon! wow!
    I’ve never taken a long break from my practice- maybe 3-4 weeks after a surgery (forced break), but have always been wildly relieved to get back to it! I’ve had all sorts of injuries, but for me the pay off of yoga still out weighs a tweak here and there. Sorry about your back- that’s a big one. I do believe that the right kind of yoga (or right teacher) can help heal… my boyfriend was told to have surgery on his back after really screwing it up from running marathons… he started yoga instead and now has an incredibly healthy and strong back. (not saying yoga is miracle- just thinking that it can be beneficial and not always aggravating to an injury).
    I like what Cody noted- I think that’s true, too.
    I have to admit that my love affair with Ashtanga (8 years now) is pretty strong, so I may not be the best judge on how to live life without it! ha ha!!
    … sorry this is such a long comment.. one more thing:
    The Dubai comment made me sad. I hope a solution is found! I saw a YouTube video once of a guy who got his friends together to practice to a video (David Swenson?- someone like that), it gave them a “teacher” and provided community- wonder if Dark Orpheus could find that?
    okay, bye now.

  9. Moonmaid permalink
    June 26, 2009 10:24 am

    I haven’t been on that mat since I found out I was pregnant and the little one will be 1 in August. So…

    But yeah, I miss it and I plan on joining a class. I had more life in me, when I practiced, a more joy. Now I’m all sluggish and unmotivated. I miss the awareness.

    We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

