Skip to content

Welcome Old Friends!

March 16, 2009

I have started spreading the word around my blogging friends that I am blogging over here under a new “secret” identity. There are so many bloggers with whom I have connected over the years, and I don’t want to lose that connection. BUT I don’t want my work colleagues, my husband’s colleagues, my relatives, or even most of my local friends to read as I’m finding that the less anonymous I am, the more stifled I feel in my writing! So if you’re a reader of my “other” blog (which I am not going to link to!) — I hope you’ll keep reading here and I hope I can get back to some of the open-hearted blogging I used to be able to do…

19 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 5:55 am

    Welcome to your new blogging home! Thanks for letting me know where you are. I hope this new place works for you. I understand your feelings about being a little restricted by your audience of real-life friends and family. Hope anonymity brings you freedom.

  2. lilalia permalink
    March 16, 2009 6:25 am

    Oh, goodie, a secret! Gumbomum, I am so happy you consider me one of your friends. Thrilled to be here, though that isn’t an expression of expectations. I know you’re a busy gal and will only blog when you can and not as much as you might want…

  3. March 16, 2009 9:55 am

    Hello! It’s Helen! Your new blog is looking good!

    Yes, I do know that feeling. Some of my family read my blog and once or twice have said: “You shouldn’t have written about this! You shouldn’t have written about that!” I don’t like to feel I have to censor myself. Saying that, the only time I really do is when it relates to the publishing industry. I’ve had a few not-so-great experiences with “people involved in writing” over recent years but feel I can only refer to them in very general terms or not at all. I don’t like that. I’ve been putting off writing a post on rejection for this very reason. I think I’m just going to go ahead and write it!

  4. March 16, 2009 2:10 pm

    How cool! You faked your own blog-death so you could start a new identity. Good work. I’ll be reading!

  5. March 16, 2009 3:34 pm

    i always thought you were pretty straight-up at the old blog… can’t wait to read you here. I can relate to the self-censorship thing. For example, I never ever blog about my work or my company. Your secret is safe with us! Should we link to you or does that start to chip away at the identity thing?

  6. tracy permalink
    March 16, 2009 5:35 pm

    YAY!! Kristi Lives On!!!! So happy about this..and have often considered this myself…..
    stay tuned!
    xxoo

  7. March 16, 2009 6:12 pm

    Totally understand (and empathise) why you need to go undercover! There are some topics I have started avoiding these days because my friends in real life have discovered my blog.

    Will bookmark this blog and visit you from time to time. Meanwhile, just keep writing.

  8. March 16, 2009 8:31 pm

    Self-censoring. Yes, exactly! Am gradually moving towards a similar move myself, though not exactly sure how.

  9. March 16, 2009 11:56 pm

    Wowwie. I’ve been thinking very much about the anonymous element of the blog… very good move. I’m adding you to my reader. Welcome to your new home.

  10. gumbomum permalink*
    March 17, 2009 12:17 am

    Thanks all. Do feel free to link (in fact, please DO link) — the “real-life” folks mostly don’t read the same blogs I do! I feel somehow liberated. Maybe I just needed a change of scenery!

  11. March 17, 2009 8:38 am

    Thank goodness! I was worried when you said you were going on hiatus, but now you have an even better space. Three cheers for good ideas and releasing what does not serve you!

  12. March 17, 2009 4:11 pm

    Oh, thanks so much for letting me know. I was devastated when I read you wouldn’t be blogging any more and am so, so happy to find out that isn’t the case. To freedom!

  13. March 17, 2009 7:21 pm

    I can link, right? My blog is private so any of your real life readers shouldn’t be there.

    Welcome to your new home
    xo

  14. gumbomum permalink*
    March 18, 2009 12:02 am

    yes, please link!

  15. March 18, 2009 11:20 am

    You got me curious what you couldn’t write about on your other blog. All the best in this new venture.

  16. March 18, 2009 8:09 pm

    Thanks so much for letting me in!

  17. March 20, 2009 12:35 pm

    Oh, this is a very exciting development.

    Good to be here, Gumbomum.

  18. lvmg (Lizzy) permalink
    March 21, 2009 4:58 pm

    Glad I found you…I understand the constraint of knowing those who read your blog. My parents read mine and it sure limits what I can write about.

    I hope you like your new home.

  19. March 30, 2009 5:06 pm

    Hi! I found you in a comment on Laksmi’s blog.. kind of newish to the blog world myself (1 year), but really enjoy a good blog! I’m bookmarking you! I have a private blog, send me your email address and I’ll add you (liz*at*bolsabonita.com).
    I laughed when reading your history of blogging because I think I’m at your phase 2: private blog but my MOM reads it- along with many friends. It doesn’t bother me most of the time, but occasionally I want to rip about something that I know my mother would cringe over.
    I’m going to catch up on your entries now…
    Liz

Leave a Reply

