Skip to content

First Draft

March 14, 2009

I’ve been here before.

Not here, literally.  But here, the blogosphere.  I’ve been blogging off and on since 2002, and this is my third incarnation.

The first blog:  I made the mistake of using my real name, and telling relatives about it.  Nothing will put a damper on my creativity like knowing my mom is reading my stuff.  I’m immature like that.

The second blog: I started writing anonymously but eventually a few friends started reading.  And then some business associates began to follow it and I started self-censoring.  I must have intimacy issues.

I also found that the more people I knew “in real life” who read my blog, the more I felt I always had to be nice and noncontroversial.  I’ve titled this blog “Gumbo Mum Tells It Like It Is” to remind myself not to hold back.

I do hope people will read, but I want to say right up front that I am mostly writing for myself.  I do hope you’ll stick around and read more, but I”ll keep writing even if you don’t.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Moonmaid permalink
    June 26, 2009 10:13 am

    I wondered what was going on with you and now I know and I am glad you’re still here.

    I have those intimacy issues, too, and I am currently struggling what to do with my English blog, which was intended to be “secret”, and how do I write honestly about my life, but without being easily uncovered 😉

    Whatever.
    See ya 🙂

Leave a Reply

